R U 3l33t?

September 19, 2003

TechTV | The Changing Face of Language

I find that when I use Instant Messaging, I write much more than when I email. I think of Instant Messaging as a conversation where email is relegated to passing information back and forth.

However, I was laughing out loud when I read the interpretation of the Lord’s Prayer in abbreviated text similar to what is used with mobile phones. Follow the link and it is a few paragraphs down.

I also enjoyed the commentary of Geoffrey Nunberg. Especially about the acronyms ‘FUBAR’ and ‘SNAFU’. I’ve used the acronyms for so long I had to think a moment to remember what they stand for…

Leave a Reply

