Red Dwarf Movie Delayed…

October 1, 2003

Red Dwarf delayed… again! – News

Again, the start of production has been pushed back to late spring of 2004. I’m trying to remember when the first movie talks started; my memory doesn’t go back that far. Shortly after I left the Red Dwarf Mailing List, but before my office moved to a new building. Say, six years ago.

Now I’m getting annoyed.

6 Responses to “Red Dwarf Movie Delayed…”

  1. Bald-Rick said

    I gave up on the movie 2 years ago when I left my regular appearances in the Official Red Dwarf Site. I mean, it seems like a perpetual list of delays. This all started shortly after the 10th anniversary, and we are already set to hit the 15th. 5 years nowhere. I mean, I know some GREAT movies that took years to get filmed (like BRAZIL, THE PRINCESS BRIDE, and the still being worked on THE MAN WHO KILLED DON QUIXHOTE. One is absolutely a brilliant spin on modern society. the second is a wonderful family fantasy. The 3rd is a classic story.

    I’m sorry, but as much as I love Red Dwarf, it’s not reaching those heights. All we are looking forward to is dissappointment at this point. I fail to see how this movie will do well at this point unless it has a story written at the level and quality of “The General”, “Modern Times”, or even from the drama side… “Citizen Kane”. Heck, it needs to be a lot better than the series has been so far! Sadly, I don’t see it happening at this point. All the delays have set this movie up for failure. šŸ˜¦

  2. I agree – I wish I didn’t.

    However, with the two different story arcs in season eight, it was kind of like having a couple of Red Dwarf movies. I taped them off of PBS and then digitized them and took the credits and stuff out. Quite nice, actually.

    Here’s to hoping that the movie gets made eventually and doesn’t suck. Oh, I hope it doesn’t suck.

  3. gaz said

    i’ve just heared about the red dwarf movie thats great i cant wait but will it be a long time…

  4. Duff said

    Doug Naylor should personally take the time to regularly update the fans on the red dwarf site with whats going on with the movie. I mean having an update once or twice every two years is a bit of a joke…

  5. John Hoare said

    http://www.ganymede-titan.info/movie/willbegood.php
    http://www.ganymede-titan.info/movie/delayedreaction.php

    Sorry, I just wrote/co-wrote those two articles so I don’t actually have to write hugely long posts each time I want to say anything šŸ™‚

  6. Thanks for the articles, John. I prefer to be optimistic as well; life is more fun that way.

Leave a Reply

