Word Abuse

October 28, 2003

The Ten Most Abused Words in Tech

“What I do for a living requires clear, unambiguous communication. So when I see language abused in a way that actually reduces the ability to communicate, it frustrates me to no end.”

Yeah, verily! I constantly have this conversation:

“Why did you do that?”
“Well, you said .”
“That’s not what I meant!”
“But it is what you said…”

I learned a long time ago that it is my responsibility to communicate clearly if I want you to understand what I mean. Even if what I say is correct, if you don’t understand it, it is my responsibility to communicate it clearly.

Recently, I’ve had an issue with a remote co-worker where I explained something and he’d return and ask the same question again. It took several repeats (I’m a slow learner) before I realized that I wasn’t communicating in a way that he could understand. My fault.

So, what do you do to communicate more clearly?

Leave a Reply

