A New Beginning…

May 17, 2004

Well, I know it has been a very long time since I wrote anything here. My fault for not doing something about it earlier – my host’s fault for breaking MovableType’s connection to mySQL and not fixing it in a timely manner (it still isn’t fixed).

What prompted the change is MovableType’s licensing changes. I’m not whining about paying for software; I’m happy paying a reasonable price for software. However, for my site which I consider to be a personal site, I’d have to pony up 200$US – and more if I want to invite someone else to participate. Or, at least, I think that is what I’d have to pay. There is a lot of confusion about the licensing and frankly, I don’t like the perceived attitude behind it.

On top of that, I really like PHP and having to run in Perl was causing problems with my host, since they ‘support’ it but don’t seem to really use it.

With that in mind, I’ll be bringing the best posts from the MovableType over but, for now, here we go again…

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

