Something new…

August 24, 2004

So, for the first time in a long while someone leaves a comment.  I was, a bit shocked; I was rather enjoying writing for an audience of one (not really).  So Nathan leaves a comment about a product his company makes, SauceReader.  Well, I visit the webpage and notice on the product page an endorsing quote from Robert Scoble.

Here is the fun bit – I just introduced myself to Robert Scoble via IM a few minutes earlier.  Didn’t chat much, just said ‘hi’ basically.  Still, I’ve been reading his weblog for a week or so and although I don’t always match his point of view, I do respect his opinion.

Anyway, I’ve been using SharpReader, which is also built over the .NET framework, but my biggest complaint with SharpReader is that I have to open the page in my web browser to add a link to my blog.  Not a big complaint but it was there.

So, I installed SauceReader.  Nice install, walks a newbie through introductions to weblogs and such.  Slick.

I then fired up the ‘Weblog This’ button.  Noticed that it was telling me that I didn’t have a weblog setup.  Clicked on the message and Voila!  opens up the setup dialog.  Select WordPress, add my site’s information and save it.

I’m typing this in as the test post, but I’m telling you, this is slick.  Very nice.  It is intuitive, nice to look at, and very full featured.

If this post works, I think I have a new tool to use.  Thanks Nathan!

EDIT:  Even better, SauceReader imported my SharpReader OPML with no problems… and kept the folder structure!  The only thing I can see that SharpReader does better is that it is faster at getting the data from the different RSS feeds – But SauceReader is still faster than I can read, so it is fine.

EDIT: Well, the love affair with SauceReader is over; check out here for the whole scoop.

Comments are closed.

