A new year, a new leaf… not!

January 4, 2005

To be perfectly blunt – I’m flawed. Quite flawed. In big ways, in little ways.

There is lots of room for improvement – even more if you ask my wife, son, family, friends, etc.

Do I care? Yes.

Am I going to make myself nuts over it? Nope.

I have but one firm resolution for this year – I’m not going to make any resolutions. As I find something I want to change, I’ll change it. But I’m not going to set myself up for failure and self-loathing again just so I can fit into a shallow society’s idea of turning over a new leaf.

I’ve taken a bit of a look at myself and decided that I do rather like myself, even with the flaws. If you don’t like my flaws, you’ll just have to get over it or look somewhere else.

And with that in mind, I’m going to get a bowl of picante sauce, some chips and read a book.

Salmon of Doubt, by Douglas Adams, if you were wondering. The more time goes by and the more I read of his writing, the more I miss him.

Leave a Reply

