Books!

August 29, 2005

Yes, books. I love books; paperbacks, oversized comics, all of them.

However, I love hardbacks the best.

Partly because they hold up better over multiple readings, partly because the first editions are printed on archival paper so they last longer.

I think I’m a bit of a twit about it though. I’ve been collecting First Edition Science Fiction and Fantasy hardbacks for, well, a long time. I read them, some of them multiple times, and I love to collect them.

Unfortunately, it is a bit of an expensive hobby; a hardback can run between 25 and 35 dollars. Ouch.

Now, I love the dust jackets and all, but I don’t sell them. If I buy it, I’m keeping it. With that in mind, I don’t mind buying the discounted books at Barnes and Noble or Borders. Sure, there is a little black mark on the pages but it doesn’t affect the dust jacket or the way it reads, so I don’t care.

A couple of years ago I discovered bookcloseouts.com and I find I don’t buy much anywhere else now. For a little more than a hardback, I just received four beautiful hardbacks in the mail:

Hmmmm, I think I like books in series… (this is no revelation; I have at least six series that I’m waiting for the author to finish up before I read them. I’m strange that way. I may give up on Robert Jordan though). I did notice that Amazon has these discounted at around 16-18 each, but since I got all four delivered to my door for 33$US, I think I still got the better deal at bookcloseouts.com.

Leave a Reply

