playing around…

September 20, 2005

I’ve been playing around with a PocketPC lately (in fact, I’m writing this on it now).

It definitely has its uses. This device has built-in wifi and bluetooth so I can lay on the bed and read the feeds with BlogLines. I can take notes, including audio, so expect some audio posts to come if I can figure out mp3 recording.

There are some limitations though. The built-in memory is waaaaay too small. There is a SD slot, but there should be at least 256 Megs, not 64. It holds on to memory and requires a soft boot to get it back. Battery life is poor.

Still, I find that I grab this device instead of the laptop for meetings. I even left the laptop home one day (connected to work via VPN) and it hot synced to the laptop over TCP\IP!

Oh, and the hot sync is great — I auto archive Outlook automatically so I don’t have to remember to pull stuff off.

It isn’t a laptop replacement, but it is a great accessory.

Leave a Reply

