Ryan Shupe and the RubberBand – Here they come!

September 25, 2005

On Friday, I took the missus, the boy and my nephew to see a local band, Ryan Shupe and the RubberBand.

Wow.

Now, you might be thinking that it would be a bit unusual to see a great band arise from the supposed cultural province of Utah, but this is about as world class of a band as they come.

Ryan Shupe and the RubberBand

The group, fronted by Ryan Shupe, has everything that a first class performance needs – great music, well written songs, and energetic performers. If I had my CDs in front of me, I’d name the band members as well, but the missus claimed them almost immediately and they are in her vehicle for the time being. I’m planning on a midnight raid to reclaim them.

Anyway, this was the boy’s first concert. He was a bit rambunctious at first and wanted to wrestle on the grass but once the music started he was hooked. He sat rigid, swaying with the music until the break and then he’d bounce up and start pretending to be playing the music. His first air guitar… .

(Devin enjoyed it as well, but I wasn’t paying that much attention to him. Sorry Devin. Although I did notice him ‘text messaging’ his girl friend at some point during the show…)

I did giggle when, during the most energetic and loud part of the show, a cover of ‘The Devil Went Down To Georgia’,
Ryan Shupe and the RubberBand - The Devil Went Down To Georgia
the boy crawled up into the missus’s lap and fell asleep.

I played the fan boy part and got the band to sign a couple of CDs for me; they were very friendly and seemed to really enjoy chatting with the fans.

During the last three summers I’ve volunteered at the Sandy Ampitheater and it has been an annual venue for Ryan Shupe and the RubberBand. Unfortunately, since I work in concessions I only get to hear them and see them come on and off stage. This was well worth the change in perspective.

Leave a Reply

