Ouch…

January 17, 2006

So here I am, lying flat on my back.

Apparently, falling off of a ladder, moving a trailer loaded with wood scraps and carrying the missus’ scrapbooking supplies to the car did something to my lower back. One visit to the doctor’s later, I’ve been advised to stay down until tomorrow.

Which sucks.

Were I sick, I could at least sit up and watch TV or type on the computer. Instead, I’m typing this with an ice pack under my back and the laptop perched precariously on my chest. Fortunately, I learned to touch type a couple of decades ago in high school, so I’m not hunting and pecking at this difficult angle.

I have had the opportunity to listen to a couple of decent movies though. AMC had ‘Excalibur’ on and I had ‘Return of the Pink Panther’ on the DishPVR. Add to that ‘The Thin Blue Line’ on BBCA and ‘The Fairly Oddparents’ on Nick (once the boy got home from school) and the day hasn’t been all bad.

Still, I’d rather be mobile.

2 Responses to “Ouch…”

  1. Empathize with you, I was in the same situation over the Christmas/NY break – flat on my back in bed, with only a laptop/wifi/DVDs to keep me company. I was able to get up and around after about 3 days, though have still not completely healed.

    Hope you get better soon

  2. It took several days to get to being fully functional, but I was mostly mobile after a couple of days. On the advice of my physician and chiropractor, I used ice packs and lots of ibuprufen. It seemed to do the trick this time.

Leave a Reply

